Buhari Makes Fresh Appointments [ See Full List]


Nigerian President,Muhammadu Buhari has approved the constitution of membership for the National Food Security Council.

The Council, to be chaired by the President, will be inaugurated on Monday.

It will have as members, the Governors of Kebbi, Taraba, Plateau, Lagos, Ebonyi and Delta States.

Other Members are the Secretary to the Government of the Federation; the Chief of Staff to the President; the National Security Adviser and seven (7) cabinet Ministers.

READ MORE:   WHAT? Man Parks €150,000 Porsche At Taxi Rank, Returns To Find Bonnet Blown Up [PHOTO]

The Ministers to be represented are for Agriculture and Rural Development; Finance; Interior; Industry, Trade and Investment; Water Resources; Environment; and Budget and National Planning.

The National Food Security Council will also have as Members, the Chief of Defence Staff; the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria; the Directors-General of the Department of State Services and the National Intelligence Agency as well as the Comptroller-General of the Nigeria Immigration Service.

READ MORE:   ARMS DEAL: Sambo Dasuki’s Aide Slams N500m Lawsuit Against EFCC, Nigerian Army

The broad objectives of the Council will include, developing sustainable solutions to the farmers–herdsmen clashes; Climate Change and Desertification and their impact on farmland; grazing areas and lakes, rivers and other water bodies; oil spillage and its impact on Niger Delta Fishing Communities; piracy and banditry; agricultural research institutions and extension services and the problem of smuggling.

READ MORE:   Governor Ortom, A Victim Of Previous Rot- Says Benue Cleric

The Council will also take interest in regional and global policies and trends that bear implications for food security in Nigeria.

Daily Post



About Queen Doosh

I am Queen Winifred Dooshima. A graduate of Library and Information Science, in both first and second degree. I am spontaneous and straightforward. A business woman par-excellence. Owner of blog which is primarily focused with creating and disseminating credible information in this era of Information explosion. Our news covers both Local and International news. My goal is to succeed!

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *