Senator-elect, Ifeanyi Ubah dumps YPP for APC


Senator-elect, Ifeanyi Ubah dumps YPP for APC

Senator-elect, Ifeanyi Ubah, who won on the platform of the Young People’s Party (YPP) has dumped the party for the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

This is coming four days after he denied plans to dump the party.

The National Chairman of the APC, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole, disclosed that Ubah was now with the ruling party at the opening of the APC National Working Committee members, returning/newly-elected senators at the Presidential Villa, on Monday, presided over by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Oshiomhole in his opening remark, said the YPP Senator-elect from Anambra South had decided to pitch tent with the ruling party because he felt more comfortable with the winning team.

READ MORE:   PHOTOS: Newly Sworn-in Local Government Chairmen Kneels Down Before APC Chairman, Abba Yaro

He said other issues pertaining to the defection would be perfected on a later date.

The APC chairman however said APC stands a better ground to control the Ninth Senate had a clear majority.

Ubah, who is currently in the camp of a leading aspirant for the Senate presidency, Ahmad Lawan, was quoted as saying at a press conference last Friday that: “I am not yet ready to defect from the YPP. I am still in the YPP. In party business, you can’t determine what would happen next. Sometimes you wake up and you will start seeing one problem or the other. For me today, I am in the YPP and I hope to remain in the party.

READ MORE:   Buhari vs Atiku: Presidential Results from the Northwest, the Northeast, the Southwest & North Central

“The YPP is bringing a revolution of change to Nigeria. I must join a progressive group in the Senate since I cannot be alone. The YPP is the party to beat in this country. I won my election without the party having an office in any part of Anambra State.”

The APC governors that were present at the meeting included Akinwunmi Ambode of Lagos State, Nasir el-Rufai of Kaduna State, Yahaya Bello of Kogi State, Simon Lalong of Plateau state, Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi state and Abdulaziz Yari of Zamfara State.

READ MORE:   Names Of All Prominent PDP Chieftains From Oju LG, Killed On Their Way To Abba Morro's Campaign In Benue

Others were Badaru Abubakar of Jigawa, Ibrahim Gaidam of Yobe State, Kashim Shettina of Borno State, and Gboyega Oyetala of Osun State.

Also present on the occasion was the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha.

Former governor of Abia State, Dr Orji Uzor-Kalu and Abdulahi Adamu from Nasarawa State who are contenders for Senate Presidency were also present.



About Queen Doosh

I am Queen Winifred Dooshima. A graduate of Library and Information Science, in both first and second degree. I am spontaneous and straightforward. A business woman par-excellence. Owner of queendoosh.com/queendoosh.co blog which is primarily focused with creating and disseminating credible information in this era of Information explosion. Our news covers both Local and International news. My goal is to succeed!

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *